Minutes of the 2012 Members' Meeting of the European Association of Methodology (EAM)

Location: Conference venue, room: Salón de Actos

Date: July 19, 2012, 17:30 to 18:45

The meeting was announced via email to all EAM members on May 18, 2012.

The agenda of the members' assembly consists of:

- 1. Accepting the Agenda for this Meeting
- 2. Accepting the Minutes of the 5th EAM Members Assembly in Potsdam, July 22, 2010
- 3. President's Report (José Muñiz)
- 4. Treasurer's Report (Johannes Hartig)
- 5. Report on the Journal *Methodology* (Joop Hox)
- 6. Report on the EAM Book Series (Joop Hox)
- 7. Scientific Affairs: Best Junior Paper and Best Junior Presentation
- 8. EAM Honorary Member: Prof. Ronald K. Hambleton
- 9. Elections of the EAM Executive Committee
- 10. Elections Procedure
- 11. Auditors' Report
- 12. Results of the Elections
- 13. Electing the Chair for the EC Elections 2014
- 14. Next Conference
- 15. Other Business

35 members and several guests attend the meeting.

President J. Muñiz welcomes the participants.

1. Accepting the agenda for this meeting

The agenda was unanimously approved.

2. Accepting the minutes of the $5^{ m th}$ EAM Members Assembly in Potsdam, July 22, 2010

The minutes of the 5th EAM Members Assembly in Potsdam, July 22, which are available on the EAM website at www.eam-online.org were unanimously approved.

3. President's report

President José Muñiz thanks the organizing committee for their excellent job in organizing and conducting this congress. He also thanks the scientific committee, local authorities and the University of Santiago.

Then, the assembly commemorates the deceased member Ángela Conchillo.

President J. Muñiz reports on the activities of the executive committee of the EAM during the last two years.

- The EAM now consists of 400 active members, but the number of members should still be increased. The visibility should be enhanced through improvements of the web site and should make more use of more flyers and social networks.
- The journal *Methodology* has an impact factor of 0.336 for the first time. He congratulates the editors for this positive development.
- President J. Muñiz appreciates the book series and announces a new editorial structure.
- As a final point, President J. Muñiz emphasizes the maintenance of the high scientific level and financial soundness as future challenges.

4. Treasurer's report

The treasurer Johannes Hartig gives an overview of the financial situation of the EAM in 2010 and 2011. The treasurer's report is attached to these minutes.

The journal *Methodology* accounts for the major part of the expenses. To reduce these costs new negotiations with the publishing company *Hogrefe/Huber* should be started in the near future.

5. Report on the Journal *Methodology* (Joop Hox)

Joop Hox reports that that the journal *Methodology* has an impact factor of 0.336 for the first time; this is a quite satisfying development.

6. Report on the EAM Book series (Joop Hox)

Joop Hox gives an overview of the development of the book series that is published by *Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group*. Meanwhile, five books have been published, one book is in preparation and one proposal is very promising. Joop Hox announces a new editorial structure based on the executive committee's decision the previous day. In the future, the editorial office will consist of one chief editor who is responsible for all activities and one editor elect.

7. Scientific Affairs (Best Paper, Best Presentation)

The awarding of the best junior paper and the best junior presentation will be postponed to the closing ceremony since presentations of candidates have to be awaited.

8. EAM Honorary Member: Prof. Ronald K. Hambleton

The EAM Honorary Membership of Prof. Ronald K. Hambleton was unanimously approved.

8. Elections of the EAM Executive Committee

President José Muñiz makes the following proposals based on the executive committee's discussion the previous day. Mirjam Moerbeek has been proposed as a further candidate for a membership of the EC.

Proposals are:

Prof. Tamas Rudas for President

Prof. Joop Hox for Vice President

Prof. Heinz Holling for General Secretary

Prof. Julio Sanchez-Meca for Deputy General Secretary

Prof. Johannes Hartig for Treasurer

For EC members:

Prof. Constantino Arce Fernández

Prof. Helfried Moosbrugger

Prof. Mirjam Moerbeek

Prof. José Muñiz

Prof. Rolf Steyer

10. Elections procedure

Julio Olea Díaz who was approved as election chair takes over the chair and explains the rules for the elections.

11. Auditors' Report

Mirjam Moerbeek and Rüdiger Mutz had been appointed by the executive committee to check the balances and records related to the balances. They could not find any inconsistencies and report that the balances and all other documents are in perfect order.

12. Elections Results

Number of Votes
32
33
34
34
33
32
21
20
29
30

All candidates with the exception of Mirjam Moerbeek have been elected for the EC.

13. Electing the Chair for the EC Elections 2014

Mirjam Moerbeek has been elected and was unanimously approved.

14. Next Conference

The next Congress will take place in Utrecht in 2012. Joop Hox gives a presentation on the venue of the next conference.

15. Other business

Rolf Steyer makes notice of the deceased EAM members Petr Blahus and Hans Müller; the assembly commemorates them. Furthermore, he presents the homepage of the EAM and encourages suggestions for improvements.

The new president Tamas Rudas thanks all members for his election. He appreciates the excellent work of his predecessors which he will continue. His main goals are to further improve the high quality of the journal, book series and conferences. Negotiations with the publisher should lead to a higher amount of financial resources which could be used e.g. for supporting young scientists. Finally, more members should assume responsibility for activities within the EAM.